Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
 

Instinct 1.5

Average Rating: 3.5 / 5.0
(3.5 / 5.0)
Instinct 1.5
An upgrade from the original award-winning shoe, The Instinct™ is the first shoe to truly marry the form-improving benefits of a minimalist shoe with the comfort, cushioning and support of a traditional running shoe. The Zero Drop™ platform and innovative FootShape™ design work together to help runners maintain proper running technique and reduce joint impact while freeing their toes to help alleviate foot pain. Trust your instincts and experience the world’s first fully cushioned, FootShape™, Zero Drop™ running shoe.
 

Customer Reviews for the Instinct 1.5

Page: 1 of 5    »
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Whew

By RunShepRun (St. Louis, MO) on Aug 6, 2012

I love my Instinct 1.0's and was ready for some new ones. I was able to get some of the first releases and have given them a pretty good test over the last week and a half or so. I'm happy to say, it doesn't seem like they changed anything on the inside of the shoe. My feet still have enough room to party. The outside of the shoe is a complete 180 from the last ones and I am very happy with the updated look. Well done.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Best shoe I've ever run in!

By Rnnslow (Charlotte, NC) on Aug 24, 2012

I bought the original Instinct a 6 months ago after several severe foot injuries. I've now run in these shoes pain free. I've tried everything from orthotics, every popular shoe fad, to barefoot running to help me strengthen my foot but these are the only ones that work. Thank you Altra!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Great Shoe

By Rusty (Boise, Id) on Oct 27, 2014

I first bought the Instinct 2.0, but a week returned the shoe for a Instinct 1.5 & love it. Like the zero drop, wide toe box, Is comfortable, supportive & fairly light. Also, bought the Instinct Everday which is basicly the Instinct 1.5 with a suede upper. I am a new & happy user of Altra
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Wow

By EdQ (Coloreado Springs) on Jun 1, 2014

I've been running since 1971 (do the math) and these have to be one of the best shoes I've run in. A very fast shoe, it does put you on your forefoot and off you heal and seems more natural. Its great for easy trail running. Go for it; if an old guy like me can run in them, you can too.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Awesome!!!

By shuffler (Australia, SA) on May 31, 2014

Best shoes I've ever run in, at the moment in running up to 50ks, no numbness no blisters, no calluses to planter foot, great cushioning,light, zero drop is amazing takes so much pressure of legs and hips, no back jarring. I guess i just love them :)shame my size ran out:(
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Great Shoe-Short Life

By yogi (OSU Oregon) on Oct 15, 2014

I have always worn shoes with arch support, i tried Instinct 1.5 and fell in love with them I am a 60 yr old walker and they are wonderful, except they do not last, I walked about 40 days, no more than 70 side walk miles and they start to fall apart by my big and little toes on the sides. this is my second pair and still has problem. If they could fix that then i would rate them 5 STARS, Thanks for 35 Days Altra ;)) PS they did send me a free pair and they are doing same thing ;;(((
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
falling apart

By Ty (Lake Bluff, IL) on Oct 14, 2014

They are very comfortable, but they are falling apart. The tops have ripped where they flex and I have holes on the side and across the top on both shoes, but the soles look they have hardly been worn. They are comfortable but its disappointing that they have fallen apart so quickly
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Great fitting shoes

By Shmomvl (Carol Stream, IL.) on Oct 14, 2014

I ran my first Marathon in these shoes and They performed great. I love the room in the toe box and the small heel helps keep me on my toes. Overall One of the best shoes I've ever run in.
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Please don't go

By Altra convert (El Salvador) on Oct 4, 2014

I love these shoes. I have improved my running form. Perfect performance and good durability. Ran 2 marathons with them and my next will surely be on my 1.5's. On my third pair. Also own the 1.0 and 2.0, which are not so great.
Average Rating: 0.5 / 5.0
stay out

By Karthik (MD) on Sep 30, 2014

Hi, i have tried a lot of shoes and i liked it as it had a wider toe and said something like a zero drop. First of all the shoes was just OK and did not exceed any expectations that i initially had. just a normal shoes. I would have used it to run for like 20 miles and i noticed the bottom heal had started to wear out. Having seen all the hype about the shoe you would expect it to last long. Needless to say the worst customer experience. Having contacted the customer service with all the photo etc they come back and say buy an another shoes and will give you a discount. would anyone buy another shoe knowing that this did not last even for 3 months. What a complete waste of time and I would expect them to be more professional. Nice lesson learnt not try anything new in the market. Shoes are OK but not a great one and can never stand close to the big ones where they stand by for their product.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Fantastic Street Shoe!

By Zak (Franklin Park, IL) on Sep 3, 2014

I picked up the Instinct 1.5's on a recommendation. I've always been a minimalist/zero drop type runner so I bit. Within the first days of having these, I've logged nearly 100 miles. These shoes are light and absolutely comfortable. It fits extremely well and has just enough comfort to where it's not a bother. I've fallen in love with Altras.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Great shoe design!

By Ironman Matt (Battle Creek, MI) on Aug 30, 2014

Finally someone gets it right with running shoes! After 2 1/2 years of recovering from a bad case of plantar fasciitis and trying a few other brands of shoes in the process, I finally tried the Altras. The wide foot shaped toe box and flat cushioned platform just made sense and they work great. I've got about 30 miles in them now and have had no pain or problems with my feet. I would highly recommend the Altra to anyone!
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
Not for WIDE feet

By raog (chicago) on Aug 26, 2014

I was disappointed that the Altra were not wide to allow for natural feet spread in walking / running. It is a straight shoe and all the technology in zero drop does not help if the show is not available in wide size.
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Altra Instinct 1.5 Review

By Nishant (Richmond, VA) on Aug 14, 2014

Nice running shoe. I got a half size up from usual shoe size. I have only been running in these for a couple weeks, but feel great. Usually running in vibrams so figured I'd try these out for longer runs(for me 4+ miles) for a little extra support/cushion. So far haven't been disappointed, and are as advertised.
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
Not wide enough

By CRNA (Elkin, NC) on Aug 5, 2014

Though it would be wider
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
Mess rips

By Drcdre (Vancouver, WA) on Dec 11, 2014

Mess at front of the shoe rips after only a short period of time. My shoes now look like cheap old running shoes......embarrassing to wear in public. I paid a lot of money for these shoes and expect the quality to be better. I don't think Altra have fixed this problem so I won't recommend these shoes to anyone.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
900 miles and still going

By WasatchWalt (SLC, UT) on Mar 5, 2013

6 stars out of 5!!! I run 50+ miles per week and have put 900+ miles on my instinct 1.0s. The outsoles have worn through in places but they are still holding together. I've run in various Brooks, Pearl Izumi, and Merrell shoes and these are by far the most comfortable and definitely have lasted the longest--most of my other shoes don't make it half the distance I've put on these. The wide toe box and narrow heal create a unique fit that allows the toes to spread during the push off while holding the shoe stable. The flat sole encourages a mid or forefoot strike. One warning: heel strikers beware--there is less cushioning in the heels than in a traditional running shoe--you may need to re-evaluate your running form. Now I'm looking forward to trying the Torin, the Instinct 1.5, and the Lone Peak!! Hopefully they are the same quality as the 1.0's. If you are a neutral fore-foot striker (or mid-foot) you will not be disappointed!
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Perfect Fit

By shon (Sulphur Springs, TX) on Mar 6, 2013

This shoe fits me almost perfect...I'm a EE foot, but Altra's shoe shape is a workable one for me. Having said that, If Altra would make a E or EE width shoe I would wear that instead. I love zero drop and all there is about the sole of the shoe. I am coming up on 300 miles and only have one complaint, (hence the 4.5 stars.) The mesh covering around the toe box is of sub-par material, and began to break down very quickly. It does not hinder the way the shoe runs or fits, but it's ugly to look at. I'm at the point where I may just rip the pieces off that I can, and just keep running. If Altra would replace this material, it would be the PERFECT shoe for me...as is, its still head and shoulders above the competition in my opinion.
Average Rating: 1.5 / 5.0
A downgrade from the 1.0

By Endre (Cambridge, MA) on Jun 29, 2014

First, I loved the original instincts. I even had 3 pairs of them. The only down side to the original instincts was the life of the sole. The 1.5's are worse in so many ways. First, the hindfoot is narrower which puts pressure on the side of the foot from heel to midfoot. Second, the material is less flexible on the side. You would think this would make the shoe give more support but it only ends up putting more pressure on the instep and side. Third, the mesh material is very plastic-like and has been tearing apart on me. Multiple areas have small holes. Finally, the shoe construction itself is shoddy. This is my second pair (returned the first pair because I thought I had gotten a dud). The Front black strip stitching is coming apart day by day. Now, I use these shoes for everything. I do light runs in them (under 5miles) and I use them for work. I'm a massage therapist. I do a lot of pivoting and lunging but seeing as how the original instincts held up great to this type of wear and tear, I don't see why these should not have.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Infra-calcaneal bursitis gone

By A-Train (Kennewick, WA) on Jun 21, 2014

Just bought a pair of the instinct 1.5 and I am an avid Brooks Cascadia user. After a basketball tourney in Idaho I had the worst bursitis I could ever imagine. I couldn't walk to the bathroom in the morning and it would get better throughout the day it hadn't gotten better in 3 months. 1 day in the instinct I am pain free. I don't trust my foot to run yet but I am pain free in 1 day I'm a convert all the way. Thank you for your help and desire to help people... Adam Evans DC