Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
 

Instinct 1.5

Average Rating: 3.5 / 5.0
(3.5 / 5.0)
Instinct 1.5
An upgrade from the original award-winning shoe, The Instinct™ is the first shoe to truly marry the form-improving benefits of a minimalist shoe with the comfort, cushioning and support of a traditional running shoe. The Zero Drop™ platform and innovative FootShape™ design work together to help runners maintain proper running technique and reduce joint impact while freeing their toes to help alleviate foot pain. Trust your instincts and experience the world’s first fully cushioned, FootShape™, Zero Drop™ running shoe.
 

Customer Reviews for the Instinct 1.5

Page: 1 of 5    »
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Whew

By RunShepRun (St. Louis, MO) on Aug 6, 2012

I love my Instinct 1.0's and was ready for some new ones. I was able to get some of the first releases and have given them a pretty good test over the last week and a half or so. I'm happy to say, it doesn't seem like they changed anything on the inside of the shoe. My feet still have enough room to party. The outside of the shoe is a complete 180 from the last ones and I am very happy with the updated look. Well done.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Best shoe I've ever run in!

By Rnnslow (Charlotte, NC) on Aug 24, 2012

I bought the original Instinct a 6 months ago after several severe foot injuries. I've now run in these shoes pain free. I've tried everything from orthotics, every popular shoe fad, to barefoot running to help me strengthen my foot but these are the only ones that work. Thank you Altra!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Wow

By EdQ (Coloreado Springs) on Jun 1, 2014

I've been running since 1971 (do the math) and these have to be one of the best shoes I've run in. A very fast shoe, it does put you on your forefoot and off you heal and seems more natural. Its great for easy trail running. Go for it; if an old guy like me can run in them, you can too.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Awesome!!!

By shuffler (Australia, SA) on May 31, 2014

Best shoes I've ever run in, at the moment in running up to 50ks, no numbness no blisters, no calluses to planter foot, great cushioning,light, zero drop is amazing takes so much pressure of legs and hips, no back jarring. I guess i just love them :)shame my size ran out:(
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Fantastic Street Shoe!

By Zak (Franklin Park, IL) on Sep 3, 2014

I picked up the Instinct 1.5's on a recommendation. I've always been a minimalist/zero drop type runner so I bit. Within the first days of having these, I've logged nearly 100 miles. These shoes are light and absolutely comfortable. It fits extremely well and has just enough comfort to where it's not a bother. I've fallen in love with Altras.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Great shoe design!

By Ironman Matt (Battle Creek, MI) on Aug 30, 2014

Finally someone gets it right with running shoes! After 2 1/2 years of recovering from a bad case of plantar fasciitis and trying a few other brands of shoes in the process, I finally tried the Altras. The wide foot shaped toe box and flat cushioned platform just made sense and they work great. I've got about 30 miles in them now and have had no pain or problems with my feet. I would highly recommend the Altra to anyone!
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
Not for WIDE feet

By raog (chicago) on Aug 26, 2014

I was disappointed that the Altra were not wide to allow for natural feet spread in walking / running. It is a straight shoe and all the technology in zero drop does not help if the show is not available in wide size.
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Altra Instinct 1.5 Review

By Nishant (Richmond, VA) on Aug 14, 2014

Nice running shoe. I got a half size up from usual shoe size. I have only been running in these for a couple weeks, but feel great. Usually running in vibrams so figured I'd try these out for longer runs(for me 4+ miles) for a little extra support/cushion. So far haven't been disappointed, and are as advertised.
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
Not wide enough

By CRNA (Elkin, NC) on Aug 5, 2014

Though it would be wider
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
900 miles and still going

By WasatchWalt (SLC, UT) on Mar 5, 2013

6 stars out of 5!!! I run 50+ miles per week and have put 900+ miles on my instinct 1.0s. The outsoles have worn through in places but they are still holding together. I've run in various Brooks, Pearl Izumi, and Merrell shoes and these are by far the most comfortable and definitely have lasted the longest--most of my other shoes don't make it half the distance I've put on these. The wide toe box and narrow heal create a unique fit that allows the toes to spread during the push off while holding the shoe stable. The flat sole encourages a mid or forefoot strike. One warning: heel strikers beware--there is less cushioning in the heels than in a traditional running shoe--you may need to re-evaluate your running form. Now I'm looking forward to trying the Torin, the Instinct 1.5, and the Lone Peak!! Hopefully they are the same quality as the 1.0's. If you are a neutral fore-foot striker (or mid-foot) you will not be disappointed!
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Perfect Fit

By shon (Sulphur Springs, TX) on Mar 6, 2013

This shoe fits me almost perfect...I'm a EE foot, but Altra's shoe shape is a workable one for me. Having said that, If Altra would make a E or EE width shoe I would wear that instead. I love zero drop and all there is about the sole of the shoe. I am coming up on 300 miles and only have one complaint, (hence the 4.5 stars.) The mesh covering around the toe box is of sub-par material, and began to break down very quickly. It does not hinder the way the shoe runs or fits, but it's ugly to look at. I'm at the point where I may just rip the pieces off that I can, and just keep running. If Altra would replace this material, it would be the PERFECT shoe for me...as is, its still head and shoulders above the competition in my opinion.
Average Rating: 1.5 / 5.0
A downgrade from the 1.0

By Endre (Cambridge, MA) on Jun 29, 2014

First, I loved the original instincts. I even had 3 pairs of them. The only down side to the original instincts was the life of the sole. The 1.5's are worse in so many ways. First, the hindfoot is narrower which puts pressure on the side of the foot from heel to midfoot. Second, the material is less flexible on the side. You would think this would make the shoe give more support but it only ends up putting more pressure on the instep and side. Third, the mesh material is very plastic-like and has been tearing apart on me. Multiple areas have small holes. Finally, the shoe construction itself is shoddy. This is my second pair (returned the first pair because I thought I had gotten a dud). The Front black strip stitching is coming apart day by day. Now, I use these shoes for everything. I do light runs in them (under 5miles) and I use them for work. I'm a massage therapist. I do a lot of pivoting and lunging but seeing as how the original instincts held up great to this type of wear and tear, I don't see why these should not have.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Infra-calcaneal bursitis gone

By A-Train (Kennewick, WA) on Jun 21, 2014

Just bought a pair of the instinct 1.5 and I am an avid Brooks Cascadia user. After a basketball tourney in Idaho I had the worst bursitis I could ever imagine. I couldn't walk to the bathroom in the morning and it would get better throughout the day it hadn't gotten better in 3 months. 1 day in the instinct I am pain free. I don't trust my foot to run yet but I am pain free in 1 day I'm a convert all the way. Thank you for your help and desire to help people... Adam Evans DC
Average Rating: 2.5 / 5.0
Seem shorter than 1.0

By Long toes (Detroit, mi) on Sep 24, 2012

I've worn 2 pair of the instinct 1.0 size 13 for the past year. I go between size 12.5 and 13 depending on brand. I love my 1.0s, but just received my 1.5s and am very disappointed to find them slightly shorter in length. The worst part is there is no size 13.5 so I will have to swim in size 14 or find a different shoe. I'll buy up the 1.0s for now, but hope for a return to the previous lengths. Otherwise, the shoe seems good.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My favorite shoe

By Jeff in Boise (Boise, Id) on Jun 19, 2014

I've been wearing Altras for almost 2 years. I do my shorter runs in these and wear my Instinct 1.0s do work and just kicking around. These are the most comfortable shoes for you toes! I just got a pair of Paradigms for my longer runs.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Great Shoe

By Randall (Lehi, UT) on Sep 11, 2012

This is the best running shoe out there. After battling ITBS for over a year I've switched to the instinct and never looked back. I naturally run on my forefoot so the switch was easy. For those of you battling injuries these are the way to go. Get rid of the support that just weakens your feet and go minimal.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Best Running Shoe I've Ever Owned

By ThinBlueMe (Salt Lake City, UT) on Jun 5, 2014

I have always used a certain brand of tennis shoe for my runs; but I have wide feet and have a hard time finding a shoe which doesn't rip after so many uses. The Instinct 1.5 is amazing! Every time I put them on, it's like my feet breathe a sigh of relief. With the large toe-box, it's actually hard to wear any other shoe which squishes my toes together. I won't ever use another brand of running shoes!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Best running show I've ever had

By PaulM (Maryland) on Feb 2, 2013

I converted to minimal running shoes almost two years ago. I first tried Vibram Five Fingers, but my goofy toes didn't fit. I switched to Merrell Trail Gloves and they were very well made, but weren't great for daily/long runs...I had issues with pain in the balls of my feet. I then switched to the original Instincts and loved the zero drop with cushioning, but they didn't last...lost their shape after a few months. Altra hit the jackpot with the Instinct 1.5s! Zero drop with just the right amount of cushioning for long runs and awesome durability! This is the perfect running shoe and I will stay with them for as long as they are around. PLEASE ALTRA, NEVER STOP MAKING THIS MODEL!
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
The mesh rips

By bnf (New York) on Feb 3, 2013

Lots of reviews saying it's a great shoe, but after 150 miles, the upper mesh rips and eventually it tears. Read the reviews on other sites and you'll see this is a frequent complaint.
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
When is this shoe going to be recalled

By Bret (Greensboro, NC) on Feb 5, 2013

I've bought two pair--both tear at 100 miles. I've called you and gotten no satisfaction. Reviews disappear that critize this shoe. I just want you to admit the problem and say what you're going to do about it. If I don't hear from you, I've have to go to the next step.