Free Shipping + 30 Day Guarantee
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
 

Instinct 1.5

Average Rating: 3.5 / 5.0
(3.5 / 5.0)
Instinct 1.5
An upgrade from the original award-winning shoe, The Instinct™ is the first shoe to truly marry the form-improving benefits of a minimalist shoe with the comfort, cushioning and support of a traditional running shoe. The Zero Drop™ platform and innovative FootShape™ design work together to help runners maintain proper running technique and reduce joint impact while freeing their toes to help alleviate foot pain. Trust your instincts and experience the world’s first fully cushioned, FootShape™, Zero Drop™ running shoe.
 

Customer Reviews for the Instinct 1.5

«    Page: 3 of 5    »
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
Disappointing

By Marc(us) (St Paul, MN) on Apr 3, 2013

Wow, I really had high hopes for this shoe... It looks good and fits better than the original Instinct, but it is a piece of garbage that is holding up very poorly after less than a month of wear. I run in the Superiors and Lone Peaks (both awesome), and have been wearing the 1.5's to work (I'm a mental health counselor at a hospital). After about two and a half weeks, the mesh started to tear on the shoes. After three weeks, large rips are now forming--search around reviews, this is a very common problem with this shoe. The quality of materials Altra is using to manufacture their new models is the worst I've seen in 20 years of running.
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Love the shoe, but its not holding up

By Lighthouse (Dallas, TX) on Apr 3, 2013

I love this shoe, great to run in, very comfortable to wear around casually too. I've been wearing them for about 6 months now, and have noticed the front mesh on the toe box is completely falling apart. It's almost to the point where I can't use them to run in any more. So, great concept and design, Altra, but work on your quality and ill never buy another brand again!
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
mesh defect

By pdr-n-pdx (pdx, or) on Apr 12, 2013

I have to start out by stating that I love Altra's fit and philosophy. I have have had three pair and love two of them; however the upper mesh on the instinct 1.5 becomes brittle and cracks at flex points. I suspect that the plastic oxidizes lead to the remarkably short life of the shoe. I have had very positive results with my Instinct. 1.0 and my pros, but I am waiting for a redesign before moving back to this model. I also have to admit that I expected better response from Altra. My local shop has all but given up on manufactures support citing very slow (months) response times. Here's to hoping things turn around.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Unlikely Hero

By IamInfidel (Rochester, MN) on Apr 18, 2013

I was first told of Altra as the ultimate in Crossfit footwear. As I had never heard of Altra I was skeptical. Then I saw them.....and was not impressed.....and I tried them on and that was the end of the argument. The fit is true, the feel of shoe is unquestionable. I have run more in them in the last few weeks then I ran all winter. In addition to an excellent running shoe they are great for all the demands of a busy Corssfit program. My only critique: I need the Instinct 1.5 in Red. Get on it and keep up the fire.
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Recall for Defective Shoes?

By McKenzieMD (Albuquerque, NM) on May 8, 2013

This is an awesome shoe . . . Except for the toe mesh ripping after 130- 150 miles. I've been patiently waiting for a correction to this issue but have not heard one. Instead, I see a new color combination has just been released. Not a very thoughtful move. Alas, because I've dedicated myself to running in a minimalist shoe, I will probably switch styles. Thank you
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
1.0 and 1.5 - the story of 2 marathons

By MapleSlab (Northeast) on May 9, 2013

I bought the 1.0's as my first minimalist shoe. Soon thereafter I began an 18 week marathon plan. The shoes had minimal to no appreciable wear evident. They fit great, cushioned well, and probably would have lasted through my second marathon. As a reward I bought the 1.5's and began my second 18 week training plan for a recent marathon. The shoe performed near identical in terms of cushioning and fit, however they did wear more than the 1.0's. The sole began to wear through and the upper had identical tears in both left and right shoes. With that said, none of the issues with the 1.5's were detrimental to performance and in both cases the shoes lasted over 600 miles...so neither was disappointing. In fact both are great! With that said I will briefly mention that I have tried two other pairs of minimalist shoes. I bought and returned a pair of New Balance 10's...they rubbed and cut the back of my heals. They were also paper thin on the foot bottoms. Altra taught me that I like cushioning...just minimalist drop from heel to toe. Paper thin soles are not for me. The other shoe I still own and use are Nike Free 3.0's. They have a 4mm drop and I mix them in for shorter distances (10 miles and under). They are lighter, but they flex more (less structure). My foot gets stronger in them, but I break down after 10 miles. The Altra's take all the long distance and that is what I need.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Great Shoe

By RunningNeophyte (Mobile, AL) on May 10, 2013

My daughter bought me a pair of these shoes in September 2012. I reluctantly gave them a try early in 2013 and the results have been amazing. I am 6'3" and 280 pounds so I did not think that a minamalist shoe would help with the plethera of injuries I have. Moving from a pure heel strike to a mid foot strike has significantly reduced the impact on my hips. I am actually running frequently again and for the first time I am enjoying every mile.
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
needs a better update

By rod m (romeo,mi) on May 12, 2013

I am a big fan of Instinct 1.0 I wish they would have kept this line longer, however, the 1.5 is not an improvement over the previous model. After three weeks of use the top fabric started to have a break in one spot. Big quality defect that needs to be updated. Do not consider this model unless they change to a better quality top fabric.
Average Rating: 1.5 / 5.0
Inferior Mesh

By volkswalker (Portland) on May 27, 2013

I loved the Instinct 1.0 for its comfort and durability (had at least 6 pair). The mesh on the 1.5 is ripping and is not comparable to the 1.0 in durability at all. Very poor quality! After 100 miles they look worse than the old Instinct 1.0 I have used for yard work. Sadly, I won't buy another pair unless this mesh issue is fixed.
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
instinct 1.5

By skeptic (chicago) on May 28, 2013

Runs smaller then the original. Lack of this info confirms my theory most internet reviews are bogus. Otherwise, great shoe.
Average Rating: 2.5 / 5.0
great shoe...mesh sucks!!!!

By JoeProcopio (Morristown, NJ) on Jun 16, 2013

shoe fits great, nice wide toebox, love the sockless feel but there is a BIG problem that seems to be developing amongst owners. The MESH!!!! I purchased mine at the Runner's World Half Marathon last Oct. that my wife was running in, I was not a runner at all, a cyclist, but decided to start...got a great price on them at the Festival so I got them...i have only put on a good 50 miles of running and some walking around with them and the mesh is tearing and ripping in the exact same spot on both shoes, the large toe between the mesh and where it connects to the toe guard. I have contacted Altra to see if this will be remedied, but from the reviews on this very site, it seems they haven't been very helpful. I have always found the people at Altra to be great, so I'm a little surprised at the lack of acknowledgment of the issue. I think it calls for a recall and hopefully I will get contacted and taken care of the right away...I own Instincts, and the 1.5s...and my wife has the Eves...not to mention I helped my brother in law into a pair of the Torins...so I have promoted the growth of the brand...
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
The Fountain of Youth for my Feet.

By Big Andy (Lehigh Valley, PA) on Jun 28, 2013

I took a chance on buying shoes over the internet. I have had numerous foot issues. I have wanted to get back to running but the pain was to great to continue. I slip these shoes on, and kid you not, heel pain gone forefoot discomfort gone...I just order a pair of Lone Peak 1.5 I was so impressed with Altra
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
Loved the shoe... At first.

By NextInstinct (AR) on Jul 10, 2013

These were my goto shoes until the mesh upper started tearing within the first month. I loved the fit and feel of the shoe and still haven't found a good replacement. I emailed Altra with pictures of the shoes tearing and received no response. Luckily the retailer I purchased them from has excellent customer service and returned the shoes. I'm hopeful Altra will correct this on the next update, but given the amount of people I've seen with the same problem it should have been addressed a lot sooner.
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Awesome fit, low durability of mesh upper

By Design4Use (San Jose, CA) on Jul 18, 2013

Big fan of the Altra geometry and wide toebox. The sole is great too and it the 1.5 feels faster then the first version. Overall great shoe. However, I am seeing the same durability issues with the outside upper mesh area over the toe guards which are tearing fast. This is after 60 miles.
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
great shoe - fix the mesh!

By martozer (Boston) on Jul 21, 2013

Almost perfect shoes. Has helped me a great deal with foot pain problems. But please make the mesh on the exterior of the shoe better! It deteriorates too quickly!
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
Fell apart so quickly

By Steve (New York, NY) on Mar 17, 2014

I loved these shoes. So comfortable and perfect for my wide feet. Unfortunately, after doing a single day of just a little box jumps and burpees along with my regular running, the front of the shoe, right above the sole where the mesh meets the leather toe cap, the gray mesh ripped to pieces on both sides of each shoe. I know these aren't a cross trainer but I still didn't really put them through much in one session and expect them to be a little more durable than that. As much as I love the feel and comfort, with this durability being such an issue, I'm afraid to ever buy these or any other Altra's again.
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
Well made but no

By Joe (Kentucky) on Jul 28, 2013

I really really wanted to like this shoe but absolutely could not run in them. I'm used to V5F and after a half mile my feet would begin to cramp. Just too thick and padded for me unfortunately. I got them because I expected them to last but won't find out unfortunately. They have sat in the closet for months now.
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
Unbelievably Comfortable. Horrible Wear and Tear

By Wide Foot (Oregon) on Aug 13, 2013

These shoes are everything they are advertised to be in terms of room for a wide foot and comfort. I put these shoes on and felt like I was wearing slippers all day long. I have used these shoes as my everyday getting around town shoe for about 4 days a week. After a couple of months each shoe tore and has separated material on the outer edge of the webbing, right where it meets up with the toe cap. Sending photos and emails to Altra have fallen on blind eyes, without the simplest of acknowledgement or response. Poor product quality and nonexistent customer care means I am back to wearing another brand's 4E. Get the shoe for the all day comfort but don't plan on getting many miles out of them. Hopefully Altra changes the material in the forefoot so that future buyers can get more use out of this appealing shoe.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
18 Mile Break in Run

By Todd (Lethbridge, AB ) on Mar 30, 2014

I just purchased a pair of Instinct 1.5 on Wednesday and had not taken them out of the box until today, Sunday. I put them on and went for a training run of 18 miles. I was worried that my feet would be sore after a few miles, but I never felt any pain at all for the entire run. After 10 miles of pavement and gravel roads, I commented to my partner that my feet feel like they are on pillows. After 18 miles, my legs still had energy and my feet felt relatively fresh. The zero drop was amazing, I normally run in a 4 drop shoe, as it allowed me to have a very balanced and natural stride. The wide toe box really helped me spread my toes through stride impact and take off. I will be adding other Altra shoes to my training and running gear. These shoes are the best I have ever worn.
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
Great fit, 4 pairs, same problem

By T. Jay (Berkeley, CA) on Mar 26, 2014

I love this shoe for it's fit and comfort. I can run effortlessly. Thank goodness for Zappos return policy. I've returned 5 pairs. 100 miles in and the mesh rips. No other wear, just the mesh. Would be great if they would be upfront about this.