Free Shipping + 30 Day Guarantee
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
 

Instinct 1.5

Average Rating: 3.5 / 5.0
(3.5 / 5.0)
Instinct 1.5
An upgrade from the original award-winning shoe, The Instinct™ is the first shoe to truly marry the form-improving benefits of a minimalist shoe with the comfort, cushioning and support of a traditional running shoe. The Zero Drop™ platform and innovative FootShape™ design work together to help runners maintain proper running technique and reduce joint impact while freeing their toes to help alleviate foot pain. Trust your instincts and experience the world’s first fully cushioned, FootShape™, Zero Drop™ running shoe.
 

Customer Reviews for the Instinct 1.5

«    Page: 4 of 5    »
Average Rating: 0.5 / 5.0
The reviews are fake

By Real (northeast) on Mar 29, 2014

All the 4 and 5 star reviews are fake . This shoe is OK but the insole slips back inside the shoe, a major problem. I have had two pairs. I had to epoxy the insoles in so they don't move. They would slip back after only walking a short distance.
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
Dissapointed

By DelawareRunner (Wilmington, DE) on Aug 27, 2013

I have tried every method of tying and lacing that you can imagine and cannot get a good fit in these shoes. The inside of my foot spills over the side of the insole and I get an uncomfortable blister. The quality of manufacture also is seemingly poor as stitch lines don't match up and are fraying after very little mileage. The shoes is also quite loud when running
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
recommend a different model

By david (gautier, ms) on Aug 29, 2013

good overall feel but the mesh is horrible...both shoes ripped in the exact same spot. i would go with one of the newer models without the plastic mesh...dissapointed in the quality
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Most comfortable shoe ever but the mesh is a joke

By Chris Glover (Brisbane, QLD, Australia) on Sep 10, 2013

This is simply the most comfortable pair of running shoes I have bought, without doubt, however I have worn the shoe only on three short runs and general day-to-day wear and I have significant rips in the mesh. Not good enough. Your materials need better testing, I have owned the shoes for 4 weeks.
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Great design but ...

By RGA (Berkeley, CA) on Sep 13, 2013

This is my second pair and although they are very comfortable to run with the outer mesh starts reaping and suddenly makes a good looking shoe turn into something you would not want to wear.
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
The shoe I've been looking for

By goodjack (New York, NY) on Sep 15, 2013

It does as advertised. Would highly recommend for those that want "less" shoe but still need cushioning. Only reason for 4 and not 5 stars is because the plastic mesh on top of shoe does not hold up well but I view that as cosmetic problem.
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
No very happy

By Nupezb (DC) on Sep 16, 2013

This is my third pair of Instincts, I had two previous pairs of version 1.0. The soles are starting to wear down at the hill and I have roughly 140 miles of wear. The two previous pair started to wear down at 200 miles. This will be my last pair of Instinct's because I can't keep burning through cash on these shoes.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Comfort for Barefoot running

By Surfdocsteve (Newport Beach, CA) on Sep 22, 2013

I have been a POSE runner for 8 years. I have been using Minima list shoes for that period and have been looking for a cushion shoe that was not like high heels. These shoe fit the bill perfectly. I am training for a 100 mile road race and my feet were in pain with my minimalist shoes when I tired to go over 10 miles. First day I ran in these I did 10 miles and my feet felt great. I have done multiple 20 plus mile runs on pavement and my feet feel great. If you run long on the road these are the shoes to have. I use the foot strengthening inserts all the time. Short distance you can use any minimalist shoe, but long distance I would not use any other shoe now.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Great Shoes

By Billy Ray (Indianapolis, IN) on Sep 28, 2013

Overall this is a very good shoe. Contrary to other reviews I have found that the 1.5 is actually roomier than the Original and has been holding up equally as well. Works great with Correct toes too. I have used other "minimalist" shoes in the past but the Instinct gives a better ride. I highly recommend these shoes.
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
good idea but

By Sad shoes (Denver,CO) on Oct 2, 2013

Comfotable shoe when the in-sole stays in place and the tounge doesnt slide off to the side (witch is most of the time). I will try and return these.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
great shoe, great customer service

By Old crossfitter (Dallas, TX) on Oct 20, 2013

comfortable,great for crossfit workout. I experienced the "tearing problem". Altra stands behind their product, instant replacements.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
33 Minutes off my half-marathon!

By INFIAD (blackstone, va) on Oct 21, 2013

These shoes are the most comfortable shoes I've ever had on my feet! I just did the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half-marathon and managed to take 33 minutes off of my personal best! I've been wearing these shoes for a month and the progress I've made is unbelievable. I'm so happy to have found these shoes! I can't wait to see how much better I can get!
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Got Me Through My First Marathon

By Hill Runner (Calgary, Canada) on Oct 22, 2013

Running in the shoes is great and has helped me to fix a knee issue that has been bothering me for years. in 11 months I went from barely able to finish 5 km to running a marathon with only the last couple miles giving me pain. they lose a star for 2 reasons: the outer mesh will tear after running for a few hundred miles, this looks bad but they still function fine. Second, the sizes aren't consistent, I ran 250+ miles in my first par and they were great, ordered a second pair in the same size and they were significantly shorter causing toe rub and eventually a black toe.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
shoe durability

By k (idaho) on Oct 30, 2013

A lot of people say this shoe doesn't last. Not sure what they are doing to their shoes to make them tear but mine have lasted without tearing at all. It's a great shoe.
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Mesh Rips

By Jason (Memphis, TN) on Nov 1, 2013

The shoes itself a great and comfortable...but after a couple of months of use the mesh surrounding the shoe tore being as thin as it is. I was very disappointed, because even aesthetically they are a very good looking shoe to just wear around for comfort as well as exercising. Now they look like I've had them for years. This is one flaw that I hope gets addressed to make this the perfect shoe. I've seen other reviews on other sites complaining about this same exact issue.
Average Rating: 2.5 / 5.0
Comfortable, but...

By Travis (St. Louis, MO) on Apr 7, 2014

Used these all last tri season for both training and races. While they're very comfortable and provide the toes room to breathe, the mesh is weak and has blown out on both sides. This is my fourth pair of Altras, The One, Superior and Lone Peak are the others. The One is great, Lone Peak equally great, but the Superior suffered the same fate as these; super comfortable, but poor quality materials in toebox.
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Solid shoe

By Blutarsky3 (Mobile, AL) on Nov 17, 2013

After roughly 50 miles, I decided to go ahead and review these shoes. I have been running 0-4mm drop shoes now for about 3 years but found that most shoes in this category either have limited mileage durability or limited cushion for the long haul. These seem to bridge that gap well. However, the "wide toe box" is just slightly too much for my taste(I have medium (D) width feet). I find it hard to get the perfect amount of holster-like feeling on the midfoot without having to tighten the laces way down. This is big for me, because I normally don't like tight shoes, especially at the mid-foot. I think this could be fixed with an adjustable elastic lace system? For me, this seems to be a great training shoe, not so much a race day shoe. Running comfort is fine for the longer haul (10k-13.1), and there is a good amount of protection. They do feel pretty heavy though, and my training times are down a couple minutes. I am, however, accustomed to lighter shoes and this is probably because they are built with a very durable sole. That being said, I'll probably be able to run a lot faster come race day. Overall, this is a solid shoe that I plan to wear out. Oh, and remember to order a 1/2 size up.
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
Bad Update

By AL (Washington, DC) on Nov 18, 2013

I had the original Instincts and they lasted 2 years, a few hundred miles and the only spot that wore out is the rubber on the bottom. I have had the 1.5's for 3 months and the mesh upper has already torn just from regular usage training for a marathon. I don't know why the upper from the Instinct 1's was changed because they were perfect but this is definitely a big issue if shoes are already getting torn at 3 months.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
I'm Never Taking Them Off!

By Ms. Bigfoot (Palmer, AK) on Nov 18, 2013

These feel WONDERFUL--the most comfortable shoes I've ever stepped into. I just had these delivered to my door and can't believe there isn't one thing about them that I'd change if I could, a miracle for my very large, problem feet. It's a huge relief to have enough room for my toes, finally. I bought these for walking and expect them to help my bad back. I love the cushioning. Thank you so much for designing something that works!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Thank You!

By Cammatt (Shrewsbury, MA) on Nov 19, 2013

I have had Achilles issues for the better part of the past ten years, I saw the television spot for these shoes and purchased a pair at Miles To Go Running in Sutton, MA a month ago. I was not able to run without debilitating pain in my heels until I got these shoes. I'm running (still very slowly) again and I LOVE these shoes.