Free Shipping + 30 Day Guarantee
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
 

Superior™

Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
(4.5 / 5.0)
Superior™
Head for the hills in the The Superior™, the performance trail shoe designed specifically for women. With a Zero Drop™ platform for stabilization and FootShape™ design for speed, you can hit the trail with confidence and comfort. The Checker Trail sticky rubber outsole offers superior grip. Don't let its lightweight feel fool you – the removable StoneGuard™ rock protection system protects your feet. Get rugged stability with a refined fit, whether you run to win or hike for fun.
 

Customer Reviews for the Superior™

Page: 1 of 1
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Really, really happy

By Angela (Mandeville, LA) on Jan 27, 2013

Picked up these shoes on Thursday. Love them. I need a light, flexible shoe with no motion control. I wanted a shoe that I could use on road as well as off. Looks like I found it. Couldn't have picked a better shoe if I made it myself.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Great shoe so far!

By Runner 4 Life (Eastern Oregon) on Jan 24, 2013

I have been running in the Provisioness and it's a great shoe, but I needed something with more traction for the winter months. So far the Superior is an excellent shoe. I love the roomy toe box and so far the traction has been great for winter running conditions. I have noticed some soreness in my lower calves that I didn't notice with the Provisioness since switching over to the Superior. I can't wait to wear them on some trail runs this spring.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
OMG These shoes are Heaven Sent

By Steph (Whitesburg TN) on Mar 5, 2013

After thousands of dollars and years of searching,finally a shoe made for the human foot.This is my third pair of altras in just 2 months.The narrow heel and natural shaped toe bed is perfect.I have a high arch and a hammer toe and my feet are doing great all day at work in these shoes.The only complaint I have is you don't make sandals and dress shoes.Thank you,thank you,thank you Stephanie
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Love them

By MV (Florida) on Oct 22, 2012

I first bought the Intuition 1.5, I loved running in them. However, I wanted a different pair of zero drop shoes that I could wear for work without the very pink color, so I ordered the Superior to use for work. These shoes are very light, and comfortable. I wasn't planning on running on them, unless I went to a trail, but I tried them on the treadmill one day and fell in love with them for running. Now I have to buy another pair of zero drop shoes for work. These and the Intuition 1.5 are great running shoes. I'm glad I tried them, because I have found running shoes that work.
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Love!

By ktmchick (Snohomish, WA) on Nov 14, 2012

I've been running in minimalist shoes for over a year now, but I noticed that as my speed and distance increased, the more sore the soles of my feet would become after doing long, hard trail runs (10+ miles). After researching the Altras, I pulled the plug and bought a pair of the Superior. At first I was aprehensive because the Superiors are not nearly as minimal as my other shoes, but they are zero drop and they did have that extra cushioning that I was looking for as well as a sole with good traction. My first run in them was a half marathon and I absolutely fell in love with them. They are light, sleek, super comfortable, and I no longer have sore feet after long trail runs. And the traction is excellent for the Pacific Northwest muddy trails this time of year. I have convinced my husband to buy a pair as well.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Love LOVE Love!

By MrsWalls (Morgantown, WV) on Apr 24, 2014

I love these shoes. While I was transitioning from my old shoes to the Altra "Superior" I dreaded switching back to my other shoes. They may look a bit goofy with the wider toe box but they are so comfortable that I really don't care what they look like. I normally wear size 7 and I ordered a 7, they are true to size. I don't feel like they are going to slip off or are too tight. If anything having the wider toe box makes it feel like they are too big but once you lace them up they are fine.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Favorite shoes!

By nja (Iowa) on Apr 24, 2014

By far my favorite running shoe! I run mostly on gravel roads and these protect my feet from all the rocks. Mine have over 300 miles on them and have held up great! Not too "grippy" when I have to switch to pavement every once in awhile. I went up a half size and they are perfect, no blisters, no black toenails, cushioning around ankle protects on tougher trails. Love these!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Moving again!

By Nan (Colorado Springs, CO) on Mar 31, 2013

After years of knee problems, foot problems (bunions, Morton's neuroma) and arthritis that kept me out of shape and frustrated, Altra's Superior is a dream come true. My therapist used to instruct me to "activate my feet" but I couldn't -- because regular pointy shoes didn't provide any space for my toes to do anything! When I realized my Morton's neuroma doesn't bother me when I wear sandals (and my feet weren't constrained in a non-foot-shaped space), I started looking for shoes that were shaped like feet. I am a walker/hiker, not a runner, and I have had these on concrete, dirt paths, Rocky Mountain trails and Sedona mesas. Totally comfortable from minute one. I'm moving again, feeling great, and forever grateful to Altra.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
LLOO-VEEEE my new shoes!!

By Trail Runner (Sacramento, CA) on Apr 11, 2013

I purchased the Altra Delilah's a few months ago, extremely happy with those so I wantd to check out the Superiors since I mostly trail run. I've had my Altra Superior for a whole week now, did 12 miles the day I bought them...they are FLAWLESS! Doing a race in them this weekend! The only one con I see is that the shoelaces are way too long but it was an easy fix...snip snip. I highly recommend them!
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
Not durable for the price

By LKD (Cambridge, Ohio ) on May 22, 2013

A first these shoes were amazing. Very light and I could tell with the first run that my knees would feel a lot better. Had no pain or tightness during my run at all. The problem with the shoes is after my second run the black cords along the sides of the shoes ripped off. I probably ran a total of 7 miles before the cord ripped. I'm disappointed because they seemed to be really great, I just wish they were more durable. The good news is that Altra has been incredibly helpful in replacing them and has made it easy to get new ones.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
sooooo comfortable

By shoegirl (kansas city) on Jun 2, 2013

I dont run that much but my husband talked me into this shoe. Used to run in asics and now going back to regular shoes is hard. These are so comfortable and I love having more feel of the road. Just wish there was a way to make comfortable shoes look more stylish...I know, vain.
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Almost great

By Off/on trail runner (Durham, NC) on Jul 16, 2013

I really like these trail shoes--they fit great, I can feel the ground, OK when wet/muddy. The main problem I have is that where the joint of my big toe sticks out a bit the mesh fabric tore within 2 months. Hence the three stars. I probably have 60-70 miles on them. This means the shoes cost me more than a dollar a mile. Won't purchase again unless Altra makes an update to make this part of the shoe more robust.
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Love this shoe

By Deb (NJ) on Sep 30, 2013

I suffer from Plantar Fasciitis and these really help. Very comfortable, light, good traction, lots of toe room. Laces are a bit long and the tongue is sometimes tough to get to lie flat. I also have the Provisioness, which I thought would be best for Plantar Fasciitis because of the stability, but these feel better and work perfectly with my custom orthotics. Have used them on dirt, turf, grass ... good traction all around.