Free Shipping + 30 Day Guarantee
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
 

Superior™

Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
(4.0 / 5.0)
Superior™
Run any trail with The Superior™, our newest lightweight performance off road shoe. The FootShape™ design provides for maximum foot relaxation and speed, while the Zero Drop™ platform gives you stabilization and better form. Get rugged protection from a lightweight shoe with removable StoneGuard™ rock protection system. The Superior™ also features a CheckerTrail outsole for maximum grip and a two-layer midsole with A-Bound for maximum energy return. Take on the terrain with an inspired trail running shoe.
 

Customer Reviews for the Superior™

Page: 1 of 3    »
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Best minimal trail shoe

By Chubbymark (Lake Forest, CA.) on Feb 18, 2013

Looking for a light and flexible trail shoe and came across the Superior. Very fast shoe with large toe-box to allow forefoot to "flow" upon landing. Very impressed with removable stone-shield, I run on rocky trails and I need the option. The only down-side is a somewhat flimsy tongue that must be manipulated as to not fold over on itself. This shoe fits small, expect to buy one size larger.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Wonderful trail shoe.

By Jules (Mount Holly, NC) on Feb 27, 2013

The more I wear the Altra products, the more I like them. I own a pair of Instincts and now the Superior and I love them. The comfort of the expanded toe box along with zero drop fits my minimalist style. I have found the rock protection to be beneficial too, compared to some other minimalist shoes. The Superior has good structure for a lightweight trail shoe.
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Favorite Shoe Yet! Just Two Small Design Fixes Needed.

By procyonlotus (Livingston, MT) on Jan 26, 2013

This shoe is flexible and provides a similar feel to barefoot, but unlike barefoot shoes, it has just enough padding to prevent you from getting ignited if you step on a sharp rock. The removable rock plate is a feature that works well and is very worth having. Even with my narrow feet, I love the wide toe box- it's easy to lace it tight so it's not sloppy, but lets the toes spread. At 200 miles (~1/3 on trails) the mesh upper is tearing in the unprotected area down by the forefoot foam, and the black cords are pulling out near the laces. If these two problems are fixed in the next version, I will repeatedly buy this shoe for years. With the durability fixed, in my opinion it will be the best design on the market. I wouldn't hesitate to run ultramarathons in this shoe.
Average Rating: 2.5 / 5.0
Durability Issues As Well

By Rob (AR) on Mar 6, 2013

The good: Very comfortable, wide trail shoe that would do fine on dirt and road. You probably do need to go 1/2 or a full size up. The bad: Durability issues...with less than 100 miles on my pair, the fabric was already coming apart on the medial side of my left shoe. My Lone Peaks have held up much, much better.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
So far my favorite running shoe,

By Chris (Oakland, CA) on Nov 1, 2012

I have a wide foot and was wearing Brooks Ghost 5's for about a year. They were falling apart after about 175 Trail Miles. Finding a trail shoe for my wide foot was a frustrating battle until by chance my local store picked up this brand. Things I like the most: 1) Toe Box. It makes the long runs very comfortable. I haven't gotten any of the usual blisters...ect that I became accustomed to. I think its what makes this shoe work for my wide foot. 2) It might seem small but the laces are long. I loop my laces and they are still long enough for a double knot. 3)Grip is amazing, especially down hill. 4)Zero Drop. I am not going to say that it makes for better running but after adjustment my recovery period is almost zero; even on long runs. Other comments: -StoneGuard. I actually checked my shoes to see if I had them because I didn't think I did after I read about them in the shoes. I feel rocks a lot more in these shoes than my Brooks Trainers. -The tongue is kind of awkward and takes some adjustment. I am 200miles deep into a pair and am going to pick up another along with the trainers. Thanks Altra for making the only pair of running shoes I'd give a 5 star rating to!
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Great fit

By matt (Switzerland) on Feb 4, 2013

One of my favorite trail shoes. Altras simply have the best anatomic fit for my feet. Good points: - Fit - Flexibility - Most comfortable running shoe I've found so far - Zero drop as with any Altra To be improved - Removeable rockplate feels a little hard (I usually run without). Have to use the insole with the rockplate. - Could do with the shoe being a little lighter - Sole could do with a more aggressive tread for running on wet leaves, snow. Current tread is for dry trails only.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Superior is a fitting name, all I needed in a trail show.

By jbs1126 (Jacksonville, NC) on Oct 19, 2012

I can not wait to see the take the shoe gurus across the industry have on this shoe. Simply amazing fit and customizable to the situation. How can a shoe be so snug and loose at the same time, my toes spread nicely, but the mid is snug and secure with the cords. Even with the low profile, I don't feel like the shoe will suddenly slip off, because of the glove like grip the upper gives. Hands down my best trail experience. . Feels like they took my favorite trail shoes and combined them with the Instinct and boom, the Superior was born. Looking forward to this on my Over the Mountain run in mid November.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Altra Superior review

By Dan (Aberdeen, NC) on Oct 16, 2012

I was very excited for this shoe to come out. I love the Lone Peak, but its a little too much shoe for my faster, more technical runs. I use the Lone Peak when I go really long. The Superior bridges the gap between the Lone Peak, and going super minimal. I ran in them for the first time today, and did a short 9 miler on really technical single track. The shoes performed better than I had hoped for. My chief complaint with shoes that have a wide forefoot is discomfort while contouring. If the shoe is poorly designed the pinky toe on the down hill foot can get really crushed and even worse, the foot can step over the mid-sole destroying any kind of stability the foot has on uneven terrain. I was pleasantly surprised that even while contouring in the Superior the foot stayed over the mid-sole, and I didn't experience any lateral discomfort. The fit of the Superior is a lot like the fit of the Instinct for me. The fore-foot still has a lot of room (like all Altra shoes), but the mid-foot is very secure feeling and makes the shoe feel very fast. The secure fit helped a lot on the technical trail I tried them on. The shoe feels very nimble jumping over downed trees, roots, and streams. It also is very responsive nailing hard 180 degree turn switch backs, and other tight turns. I was a bit apprehensive about the nylon cord on the sides of the shoe that connect to the laces. It worried me that 4 cords of nylon on the medial and lateral sides of the shoe could support the foot, and keep it secure over the mid-sole. The nylon cord worked great. The foot felt solid in the shoe, but still comfortable. I never felt the cords cutting into my feet, and they worked exactly as they were meant too. The Superior has a lower profile rear foot and counter then the Lone Peak. That makes the shoe lighter, and a little bit more comfortable on the turns then the Lone Peak. However lowering the rear of the shoe does make you lose some stability, but for the most part that loss is negligible.
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Awesome Shoe.

By Orange Trail Monkey (Salt Lake City, UT) on Oct 20, 2012

I have been running trails for about 3 years and I think I found the last shoe I'll ever buy. I did a 17 mile trail run this weekend and absolutely loved this shoe. This shoe provided excellent stability and a very non-slick tread for both the up and downhill trails, even on slick rocks. A few times I stepped in some mud/water and the upper dried rather quickly. The fit was perfect and I love the feel of the zero-drop. The only complaint is that the tread right below the toes showed a little more wear than expected on the first use. I did run a rugged trail. I hope that in the future the tread is a little firmer in the toe section.
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
Quality?

By Runtgh (Jarrettsville, MD) on Jan 14, 2013

3 months in and the side mesh has ripped out, front vinyl has ripped and a holder for the black string has ripped apart. I am still running in the lone peaks and they are 14 months old with 600 plus miles on me. Apart from the foam at the heal they are in great shape. Not sure what happened with the superiors, I really love running in them, but having to replace after 3 months is just too expensive for me.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Finally found the perfect zero drop trail shoe

By trailrnr57 (Stanfield, NC) on Jan 20, 2013

After many years of running road races I switched to trail races a little over three years ago. I had also researched barefoot running and switched to a minimalist shoe. After trying four different brands, over the last three years, I purchased a pair of the Superiors three weeks ago. I have completed two races in them, the Morrow Mountain 10 miler, 1/12, and the US White Water Center half trail marathon, 1/19. I have finally found the perfect trail shoe for me. Thanks for developing this shoe.
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
Tearing uppers, too.

By Stefan (Germany) on Jan 23, 2013

Actually a great shoe but after only 40 miles the side mesh ripped. First on the left shoe but the right shoe shows initial damage at the same spot, too. Please see here for images and a more thorough description: http://runblogger-forum.com/discussion/204/altra-superior-duarbility-issue
Average Rating: 2.5 / 5.0
Comfortable yes, construction quality- so/so

By DogFishTX (Lubbock, TX) on Jan 25, 2013

I LOVE the fit and feel of this shoe. However, only 2.5 stars based on construction quality. I am on my third replacement pair. The seam that connected the tongue to the side of the shoe unraveled after about a month on the first pair, second pair same problem after about FOUR wearings, We'll see how the third pair goes. My local retailer has been great about this issue. Great shoe but the quality of construction or at least inspection has to get better.
Average Rating: 2.0 / 5.0
need infro

By super dave (hondo ,texas) on Jan 25, 2013

Is this a good running road shoe ,I do about 30 , 40 miles week on pavement. and do 1 ,2 5k month. your thought on this shoe superior
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
nice shoe, feels like a slipper

By RED (Oakland, CA) on Jan 25, 2013

I selected this shoe because it seemed to be the widest version of all the styles (which was a necessary criteria in order to not re-aggrivate a bruised metatarsal injury). Can't wait to take a long walk or hike in them and see how my feet feel afterwards! A note to people trying to find their size, I usually wear an 8.5 in men's / 10 in women's. The most comfortable shoe in this style was size 11, men's. These shoes run small!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My first trail running shoes.

By Emmanuel (Kirkland, WA) on Mar 9, 2013

These are the shoes I got, without the rock-plate and extra insole, I love them so far. The ribbing on the bottom going front and back means they've got grip without being super nubby. Good trail feel.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My favorite Altra yet!

By Mace (Gilbert, AZ) on Jan 9, 2013

I have tried every Altra they offer and these are my absolute favorite. It provides a perfect balance between the Samson, Instinct, and Lone Peek. Less cushion then the Instinct but not a total minimalist like the Samson. You also have the traction and stone guard to keep up your lone peek style trial runs. Great shoe! Love it.
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Super shoe, except for durability of side of forefoot mesh

By Lightning Racer (Anchorage, Alaska) on Dec 19, 2012

These shoes are the most comfortable shoes of any that I have used in my life for fit. I especially love the little toe room that is lacking in every other shoe that I have ever used. The mesh also accommodates my bunions without putting pressure on them. Once I adapted to the firm ride, I like that fine. The rubber seems soft and sticky, and the tread pattern is versatile and decent for both trail and road. I took one look and the thickish rubber outsole, and I was pretty sure the rock protection insole was not going to be necessary for me, and it wasn't. I'm not sure it would really help in rocky situations, but sole is protective enough already for me that I'm not going to test it further. The main problem I have observed with the shoe is low life of the unreinforced mesh at the forefoot flex points. The coarser weaves/lines in the outer mesh are connected by pairs of thread that break pretty easily through fatigue (repeated flexing with miles). I can see the mesh starting to go at only about 230 miles. On my pair, the overlays are not symmetrical left shoe vs. right shoe. Where the front and rear overlays "V" towards one another, but not quite meet, the outer coarser layer of the mesh sides on the longer of the unreinforced mesh sections (left side of right shoe, right side of left shoe) are fatigue damaged already and will probably propagate through to the inner mesh and become full blown holes pretty soon. I expect the other sides to follow. I see Altra says to expect 300 to 500 miles, so I will likely get into that range, but with holes in the sides. It'd give it a 5 star if the shoe lasted as long as my other trail shoes (no holes in uppers until about 1,000 miles, 1,750 total miles). Though I love the fit/feel, etc, I can't give it a higher rating because the value - I can probably wear through the uppers in two weeks in seasons when I am running 100-120 miles per week. Minor criticisms: Laces are too long. I shortened mine by 17 cm. Little decorative(?) silver plastic lines ei
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Best trail shoe so far!

By BostonTrailTerrior (Boston, MA) on Dec 18, 2012

I feel the same as Dan about the shoe and the Lone Peak (which I wear for hiking). Altra essentially took the Instinct and modified it for trail use---perfect! It's light but still gives more support and protection from roots and rocks than the super minimalist shoes do. Like most of the Altras and other zero drop/minimalist shoes, I order a half size larger than my regular size. They absolutely nailed it with this shoe.
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Awesome shoe . . . except the tread.

By Jrod (Eugene, OR) on Dec 2, 2012

I love everything about this shoe except the traction. It is fine for forward motion, but the lateral traction is quite poor. Muddy switchbacks at speed are a problem. Altra got the Lone Peak traction so right . . . why the deviation? With better lateral traction this shoe would be a dream.