Free Shipping + 30 Day Guarantee
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
 

Torin

Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
(4.5 / 5.0)
Torin
Experience a cushioned, comfortable run with the Torin™–our highly cushioned neutral training shoe. Two-layer AltraBound™ cushioning returns energy back into each stride and reduces impact on hard surfaces. The well-cushioned ZeroDrop™ platform and FootShape™ toe box work together for natural foot positioning. This combination places your heel and forefoot the same distance from the ground and allows proper toe splay to help you run the way you were born to. Run with relaxed feet, less impact and better technique with the Torin.
 

Customer Reviews for the Torin

Page: 1 of 2    »
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My favorite Altra shoe yet

By Coach Kristie (Las Vegas) on Jan 10, 2013

I own Altra Lone Peaks and Intuition 1.5s this by far is my favorite Altra shoe. It is a very responsive shoe. It provides just that little bit more of cushioning while keeping true to zero drop. Doesn't hurt that it is very stylish too. Overall, great shoe.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Fabulous shoes

By sharon (Concord, NC) on Mar 25, 2014

I have had stress fractures in both heels, high arches, bunions, 2 little toe surgeries and was miserable in my shoes. I bought these and they feel so good. It took about 1 week to be certain they felt right and weren't going to rub my little toe again. I am not using my custom shoe inserts as there is so much cushioning in the shoes I don't feel I need them.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My most favorite running shoes

By Lisa (Enid, OK) on Jan 17, 2013

I've been since I was in the 8th grade and I've run in many different kinds of running shoes. I was introduced to Altra running shoes back in August by Coach Jeff with PRSfit and I doubt I will ever run in anything else. Altra shoes are fabulous and I LOVE the Torin's! I', actually ordering a second pair to wear during the day while I am at work.....they just feel that good on your feet!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Life Changing

By Jane (Houston, TX) on Jan 18, 2013

I've never been able to run more than 3 miles without painful blisters. These shoes allow me to run further and faster because the pain is gone. Just when I was about to give up running, these shoes changed mind.
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
so glad i found them

By desert gal (arizona) on May 14, 2014

i am not running now and am quite active but a heavy bodied person. i injured cartilage and tendons in knee last fall, and in my healing realized most shoes were very bad for my knees, tilting my body forward and putting pressure on them. i tried other 'medical ' shoes but they all seemed heavy and felt like they entombed my foot which made for a wooden ,stiff gait. finally i found Altra and went with one this one, which had the most cushioning possible at the time. i love these shoes and i feel they are the reason i have been able to resume walking with no pain. i also have a high arch, but my feet are doing well, even without additional supports inside the shoe, though i sometimes add a simple flat pad if my day involves a lot of walking on concrete. i think the fact that my foot is active in these shoes helps rebuild muscle. RE: sizing ,my wide foot loves these shoes. i usually wear a 9 1/2 but since i read these run small i ordered a 10. it's not tight, but it's very close, so i ordered a second pair, an 11. i've never before in my life ordered an 11 , but in this style, that is what fit my 9.5 foot.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Excellent running shoe

By Steph (Indianapolis, IN) on Jun 24, 2014

These shoes are fantastic. I've had mine for a few months now and they are so comfortable to run in. I've struggled with constant right shin problems prior to switching to the Intuition 1.5's - and I started to heal. Now with Torin's on my feet I can run pain free any time. Very thankful for Altra!
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Happy Toes AT Last

By cams3g (North Carolina) on Mar 11, 2013

I used to hike for miles and last fall developed pain in my right foot toe that was crippling. After spending hundreds of dollars on shoes that felt good in the store but hurt after an hour or so I found a website that lead me to Altra. I LOVE these shoes, my toes are so happy! Hopefully they make a model for hiking.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
awesome shoes even for non runners

By Nancy (San Marcos, CA) on Mar 13, 2013

My feet are extremely hard to please after lots of foot operations. Any extra pressure (like heel being higher than ball of feet) is painful. But after much searching (for more than a year, very discouraged, tried many other high quality and expensive shoesI found these wonderful shoes! I am so grateful for the zero drop! The Torin in particular works for me due to lots of toe room. They have enabled me to walk comfortably. That is huge for me. Now I hope you come out with a zero drop sandal, so I can also wear cute dresses and skirts. Great shoes, great company, great customer service. Excellent!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
great shoe

By Lark (York SC) on Mar 21, 2013

This is the shoe have been looking for ... absolutely comfortable and they are right ... first shoe I don't need to kick off when I come in from my walk. I wIsh it came in solid black. And hope I can find replacement laces (dog chewed on one). LOVE!!!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
WOW

By Happy in Lawnside (Lawnsid) on Apr 9, 2013

I started with The Intuition and loved it but I could run long distance because I needed more support. Then I decided to try the Torin. Wow I love it. Great support and my feet can finally spead when I do my long hauls. Thank you.
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
I'll keep my intuitions

By jmara (Shreveport, LA) on Apr 19, 2013

I keep a pair of intuitions at gym - perfect for treadmill and weight lifting if I tape the back of heel where they rub. Go-to shoes are the improved intuition 1.5's - best shoe ever. Was concerned about running long in them so very excited to try the torin in place of my other company shoes for higher mileage. Had high expectations based on the excellent intuitions but for me, these shoes do not let me feel the road at all. Where the intuitions make me feel sure-footed and able to respond quickly, the torins make me watch the road for every crack or bump. Oh well, great idea, just not for me. On plus side, I did try my 1.5's for my last half and they were as awesome as they are on short runs. Guess I didn't need the extra cushioning, lol.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Love them!

By Juanita (Portland, Oregon) on Apr 25, 2013

With my mileage rising, I need something with some cushion. Yet I want to stay with the zero drop. Enter the Torin. I had been running in the Intuitions and like them, but slipping into the Torin felt like coming home. I find the fit to be the same as the Intuition 1.5. The laces stay tied better than the others, but I still switched out for some lock laces. So far, I have one marathon and a couple of half marathons in them. Now comes training for a 50 miler. The Torin is my choice of shoe for it!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My new lovew

By HilltownRunner (Western Massachusetts) on Jun 11, 2013

I love this shoe! The Torin has relieved the my bunion pain I developed this winter while training for the Boston Marathon. For the last two months, I've only run in these shoes and my bunion never hurts now. There's a lot of cushion which makes me happy to slip these on for both road and light trail (no traction for serious trail runs.) I was also surprised to find out that I can use my orthotics in them. I'd highly recommend it to anyone.
Average Rating: 0.5 / 5.0
Not Pleased!

By Blue Angel (Sedalia, Missouri) on Jul 28, 2013

This is my third pair of Altra's that I've gotten. My first pair were Intuition and felt great the second I put them on. The same with my Superiors. Next I ordered the Torin, they absolutely killed my feet! They ached from the moment I wore them. They also made my planter fasciitis flare up. Tried putting the extra cushion in, no different! I'm sending the Torins back! Very disappointed! I've loved my Altras for the very reason they have been comfortable and my planter fasciitis hasn't flared up with them. Not so with the Torin! Uncomfortable shoe!
Average Rating: 0.5 / 5.0
Don't buy this shoe

By Melissa (Ogden, UT) on Aug 21, 2013

I bought this shoe in January of 2013. I thought it was a great shoe at first. I've been running with it for 7 months now and the shoe has worn out to the point that I can't wear it anymore. The shoe stretched to the point that I couldn't tighten the laces tight enough for my heel not to slip out the back. Because my heel was slipping out the back it wore down the back inside of the shoe. Altra wouldn't do anything about my shoe not even lasting 1 year. I have never had a pair of running shoes wear out so fast before. I would not recommend buying this, they aren't standing behind their products. Never never have any of the other tried and true brands I've tried worn out this fast before.
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
i love these, and i'm unbelievably picky.

By CAyoginirunneresq (Los Angeles, CA) on Aug 24, 2013

"princess and the pea" is a most frequent jab in my household. If there is the tiniest irritation in anything, i will notice and say so. These shoes are fantastic. My two main hobbies are marathons and yoga, these shoes accomodate a yoga foot (wide toe box, narrow heel) and provide the perfect amount of cushion for the longer distances. I'm also neutral to a slight supinater, and the stability (or lack there of) in this design has been perfect for that as well. It has actually helped neutralize my occasional slight supination without encouraging overpronation (an issue I've had with other shoes). At first I was skeptical, but the cushioning is just right, too. As far as my feet are concerned, they feel equally comfortable at mile 6, 16, and 26 with my torins. I've only found two shoes that accomplish this, altra torin, and one of another brand. The zero drop nudges Torin to the front of the two, as i noticed a subtle but very positive difference in running form and general posture alignment when transitioning to the torins. the .5 star is because i find the included shoe laces to be uncomfortable. BUT i replaced them with a soft round shoelace for about two dollars, and now the shoes are absolutely perfect. I have them in both colors to rotate during the week due to high mileage. Anxiously awaiting winter updates and new colors!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Most comfortable sneaker Ive ever worn!

By Beverly (Saratoga, NY) on Sep 2, 2013

Decided to try the Torin when I signed up for a Ragnar Relay race and needed to have a second pair of running shoes available. These put my new Reeboks to shame! Im ordering a second pair now to have for my next race. The most comfortable sneakers I have ever owned
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
LIFESAVER

By Christie (NC) on Sep 6, 2013

I have been an avid runner since I was 14 years old, I am now in my 40s. I had developed a nasty neuroma that leaves my right foot in excruciating pain. With the help of wonderful people at our awesome, local running store....I am now the proud owner of the Torin. Crazy, but-NO PAIN and have not felt the neuroma or typical "burning sensation" at all. I LOVE this shoe. The wide toe box allows for my feet to lay naturally. Thanks for being so FAB!!!!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Metatarsal pain gone

By Happy Camper (Massachusetts) on Sep 15, 2013

I believe zero drop and wide footbed were the keys for me. Most comfy running shoe I have ever owned. Will never go back to squishy toes again!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Saved my running

By MommyRuns (Beverly, MA) on Sep 24, 2013

After running in Newtons for almost a year, my ankles were killing me so much that I thought I might be forced to stop running. I gave the Altra Torin a shot in hopes it would help. I had planned to slowly switch over, but after one run, I never wanted to run in anything else. After three weeks of training that included a half-marathon race (with a new PR), I am convinced these are the best shoes ever. My ankles are feeling better than they have in over a year, and my back feels better too (an unexpected bonus).