Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
 

Torin

Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
(4.0 / 5.0)
Torin
Experience a cushioned, comfortable run with the Torin™–our highly cushioned neutral training shoe. Two-layer AltraBound™ cushioning returns energy back into each stride and reduces impact on hard surfaces. The well-cushioned ZeroDrop™ platform and FootShape™ toe box work together for natural foot positioning. This combination places your heel and forefoot the same distance from the ground and allows proper toe splay to help you run the way you were born to. Run with relaxed feet, less impact and better technique with the Torin.
 

Customer Reviews for the Torin

Page: 1 of 2    »
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My favorite Altra shoe yet

By Coach Kristie (Las Vegas) on Jan 10, 2013

I own Altra Lone Peaks and Intuition 1.5s this by far is my favorite Altra shoe. It is a very responsive shoe. It provides just that little bit more of cushioning while keeping true to zero drop. Doesn't hurt that it is very stylish too. Overall, great shoe.
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
too small of a shoe.

By auntiekat (Antioch, CA) on Oct 15, 2014

The shoe is too small and the last time I wore it I got a blister on my second toe on the left due to being bent up. I really have tried to wear them. The size is just to short. I know I have had them too long to return them.
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
At Last - Relief!

By IrishMomof9 (Mobile, AL) on Oct 12, 2014

These athletic shoes are the most comfortable that I've ever worn! After 45 years of nursing, my legs and feet are "shot". And the arthritis in the base of my right toe made shoes a torture chamber on my feet. Luckily, living in AL, I wear sandals most of the year. But when starting exercise classes, I needed to wear athletic shoes, and found these online. They arrived quickly, were a wonderful fit due to the wide toe area, and I can exercise without pain. Thank you, Altra!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Terrific

By OlderFeet (New Haven, CT) on Oct 9, 2014

I liked my Lone Peak 2.0 for walking and hiking so much that I decided to give these a try for TENNIS. (Couldn't rip up the clay courts with a trail appropriate sole.) Happy, happy, happy. I suffered so much discomfort in my tennis sneakers that I couldn't wait to get them off at the end of a match. Now I run around smiling, telling all disinterested tennis buddies about my find.
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Great for running, but falls apart

By jck (Minneapolis, MN) on Oct 3, 2014

I would give them 5 stars if the plastic/rubber design stuff on the side of the shoes wouldn't have separated and pealed off over time. I ended up just cutting the stuff off with an exact-o knife because dirt was getting caught where it gaped open, and it would make a funny noise when I walked around. Other than that I loved the shoes and am on my 2nd pair of Altra Torin (1.5 now). I used to have feet problems what required custom orthotics, but haven't had to wear them since finding Altra shoes.
Average Rating: 1.5 / 5.0
Didn't like them

By None (Oceanside CA) on Oct 15, 2014

Made my feet hurt after about 2 hrs of wear time. I ordered an insole for them, but it made my toe hit the tops of the shoe. I returned them for full credit.
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Very comfortable shoe

By HarrisonRunner (Harrison, TN) on Sep 9, 2014

This is my first pair of Altra shoes. I have extremely wide feet and have been prone to stress fractures.The high cushioning and wide toe box is what attracted me to these shoes. I had to work on my running technique to insure a mid-foot strike.I have been running in them for over a month and have been pleasantly surprised. The cushion has been a blessing on long runs and the wide toe box has prevented blisters. I looked to buy a spare pair but they are out of my size.:(
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
I have finally found the perfect jogging shoe!

By kittie (MO) on Sep 2, 2014

About 8 years ago, I would jog and always wish my shoes were made with more toe space. If they were only made just a little wider. I heard of this brand 2 years ago and knew that I should try them. I was so happy to see that Altra has finally got things right! The toe box spacing is exactly perfect. I will only use the Altra brand from now on. Thanks so much :)
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Best shoes ever!

By Save4four (Chewalla, TN) on Aug 30, 2014

I still can't believe how these shoes are changing my life!! My back was hurting before I tried these on at the store and as soon as I walked around with them on my back felt better! Wasn't expecting that at all! I had also been having neuropathy in my feet and that has improved as well. I'm going to buy another pair because I don't want to be without Altra Torin's again! Thank you for inventing them!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My Favorite Altras

By Tracy (Arizona) on Aug 11, 2014

This is my 5th pair of Altras and by far my favorite. I Love the wide toe box, the zero drop and the comfy padding. I couldn't ask for a better shoe in terms of comfort for long desert miles.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Love love love them....

By Mrs Muffin (Cedar Rapids IA) on Aug 9, 2014

I have arthritis in both feet, bad tendons and bunions in both feet and flat feet and the Altra are wonderful...I stumbled upon them when my husband was shoe shopping..I bought the Intuition 1.5 first, loved them and I just bought the Torin..they are wonderful.I wear them everyday and my feet feel great...thanks for making a wonderful shoe for people who have less then wonderful feet...
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Great cusioning, but no bunion friendly

By wendy (Sherrodsville, OH) on Aug 5, 2014

I can't say enough how I loved the cushioning in this shoe. However, I have bunions and although small and light, the "waves" that run over the side of the shoe hit right where my bunions are and caused painful friction. If those strips could be taken off, I would give the Torin another try for sure!
Average Rating: 3.5 / 5.0
Exchange

By Mango (Baton Rouge, La.) on Aug 5, 2014

My shoes do not measure 7 1/2 as any other shoe I have had and I have been too busy and forgetful in requesting a return shipping label for the replacements. I would like to resend them for an 8 if possible. I was so waiting to try them but hopefully I can soon. Note that the rating is arbitrary to finish the correspondence.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Fabulous shoes

By sharon (Concord, NC) on Mar 25, 2014

I have had stress fractures in both heels, high arches, bunions, 2 little toe surgeries and was miserable in my shoes. I bought these and they feel so good. It took about 1 week to be certain they felt right and weren't going to rub my little toe again. I am not using my custom shoe inserts as there is so much cushioning in the shoes I don't feel I need them.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Great shoe!

By luckymom (Tyler, Tx) on Aug 6, 2014

I have had foot problems for the past year or so and ended up having surgery last December to remove a bone spur on my foot. These are the only shoes that I have been able to wear that don't kill my foot. Enough room in the toe box that I am now able to run again. Will never go back to anything else. I am sold!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My most favorite running shoes

By Lisa (Enid, OK) on Jan 17, 2013

I've been since I was in the 8th grade and I've run in many different kinds of running shoes. I was introduced to Altra running shoes back in August by Coach Jeff with PRSfit and I doubt I will ever run in anything else. Altra shoes are fabulous and I LOVE the Torin's! I', actually ordering a second pair to wear during the day while I am at work.....they just feel that good on your feet!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Life Changing

By Jane (Houston, TX) on Jan 18, 2013

I've never been able to run more than 3 miles without painful blisters. These shoes allow me to run further and faster because the pain is gone. Just when I was about to give up running, these shoes changed mind.
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
so glad i found them

By desert gal (arizona) on May 14, 2014

i am not running now and am quite active but a heavy bodied person. i injured cartilage and tendons in knee last fall, and in my healing realized most shoes were very bad for my knees, tilting my body forward and putting pressure on them. i tried other 'medical ' shoes but they all seemed heavy and felt like they entombed my foot which made for a wooden ,stiff gait. finally i found Altra and went with one this one, which had the most cushioning possible at the time. i love these shoes and i feel they are the reason i have been able to resume walking with no pain. i also have a high arch, but my feet are doing well, even without additional supports inside the shoe, though i sometimes add a simple flat pad if my day involves a lot of walking on concrete. i think the fact that my foot is active in these shoes helps rebuild muscle. RE: sizing ,my wide foot loves these shoes. i usually wear a 9 1/2 but since i read these run small i ordered a 10. it's not tight, but it's very close, so i ordered a second pair, an 11. i've never before in my life ordered an 11 , but in this style, that is what fit my 9.5 foot.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Excellent running shoe

By Steph (Indianapolis, IN) on Jun 24, 2014

These shoes are fantastic. I've had mine for a few months now and they are so comfortable to run in. I've struggled with constant right shin problems prior to switching to the Intuition 1.5's - and I started to heal. Now with Torin's on my feet I can run pain free any time. Very thankful for Altra!
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Happy Toes AT Last

By cams3g (North Carolina) on Mar 11, 2013

I used to hike for miles and last fall developed pain in my right foot toe that was crippling. After spending hundreds of dollars on shoes that felt good in the store but hurt after an hour or so I found a website that lead me to Altra. I LOVE these shoes, my toes are so happy! Hopefully they make a model for hiking.