Free Shipping + 30 Day Guarantee
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
Main Menu
 

Torin

Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
(4.5 / 5.0)
Torin
Experience a cushioned, comfortable run with the Torin™–our highly cushioned neutral training shoe. Two-layer AltraBound™ cushioning returns energy back into each stride and reduces impact on hard surfaces. The well-cushioned ZeroDrop™ platform and FootShape™ toe box work together for natural foot positioning. This combination places your heel and forefoot the same distance from the ground and allows proper toe splay to help you run the way you were born to. Run with relaxed feet, less impact and better technique with the Torin.
 

Customer Reviews for the Torin

Page: 1 of 2    »
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My favorite Altra shoe yet

By Coach Kristie (Las Vegas) on Jan 10, 2013

I own Altra Lone Peaks and Intuition 1.5s this by far is my favorite Altra shoe. It is a very responsive shoe. It provides just that little bit more of cushioning while keeping true to zero drop. Doesn't hurt that it is very stylish too. Overall, great shoe.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My Favorite Altras

By Tracy (Arizona) on Aug 11, 2014

This is my 5th pair of Altras and by far my favorite. I Love the wide toe box, the zero drop and the comfy padding. I couldn't ask for a better shoe in terms of comfort for long desert miles.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Love love love them....

By Mrs Muffin (Cedar Rapids IA) on Aug 9, 2014

I have arthritis in both feet, bad tendons and bunions in both feet and flat feet and the Altra are wonderful...I stumbled upon them when my husband was shoe shopping..I bought the Intuition 1.5 first, loved them and I just bought the Torin..they are wonderful.I wear them everyday and my feet feel great...thanks for making a wonderful shoe for people who have less then wonderful feet...
Average Rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Great cusioning, but no bunion friendly

By wendy (Sherrodsville, OH) on Aug 5, 2014

I can't say enough how I loved the cushioning in this shoe. However, I have bunions and although small and light, the "waves" that run over the side of the shoe hit right where my bunions are and caused painful friction. If those strips could be taken off, I would give the Torin another try for sure!
Average Rating: 3.5 / 5.0
Exchange

By Mango (Baton Rouge, La.) on Aug 5, 2014

My shoes do not measure 7 1/2 as any other shoe I have had and I have been too busy and forgetful in requesting a return shipping label for the replacements. I would like to resend them for an 8 if possible. I was so waiting to try them but hopefully I can soon. Note that the rating is arbitrary to finish the correspondence.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Fabulous shoes

By sharon (Concord, NC) on Mar 25, 2014

I have had stress fractures in both heels, high arches, bunions, 2 little toe surgeries and was miserable in my shoes. I bought these and they feel so good. It took about 1 week to be certain they felt right and weren't going to rub my little toe again. I am not using my custom shoe inserts as there is so much cushioning in the shoes I don't feel I need them.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Great shoe!

By luckymom (Tyler, Tx) on Aug 6, 2014

I have had foot problems for the past year or so and ended up having surgery last December to remove a bone spur on my foot. These are the only shoes that I have been able to wear that don't kill my foot. Enough room in the toe box that I am now able to run again. Will never go back to anything else. I am sold!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My most favorite running shoes

By Lisa (Enid, OK) on Jan 17, 2013

I've been since I was in the 8th grade and I've run in many different kinds of running shoes. I was introduced to Altra running shoes back in August by Coach Jeff with PRSfit and I doubt I will ever run in anything else. Altra shoes are fabulous and I LOVE the Torin's! I', actually ordering a second pair to wear during the day while I am at work.....they just feel that good on your feet!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Life Changing

By Jane (Houston, TX) on Jan 18, 2013

I've never been able to run more than 3 miles without painful blisters. These shoes allow me to run further and faster because the pain is gone. Just when I was about to give up running, these shoes changed mind.
Average Rating: 4.0 / 5.0
so glad i found them

By desert gal (arizona) on May 14, 2014

i am not running now and am quite active but a heavy bodied person. i injured cartilage and tendons in knee last fall, and in my healing realized most shoes were very bad for my knees, tilting my body forward and putting pressure on them. i tried other 'medical ' shoes but they all seemed heavy and felt like they entombed my foot which made for a wooden ,stiff gait. finally i found Altra and went with one this one, which had the most cushioning possible at the time. i love these shoes and i feel they are the reason i have been able to resume walking with no pain. i also have a high arch, but my feet are doing well, even without additional supports inside the shoe, though i sometimes add a simple flat pad if my day involves a lot of walking on concrete. i think the fact that my foot is active in these shoes helps rebuild muscle. RE: sizing ,my wide foot loves these shoes. i usually wear a 9 1/2 but since i read these run small i ordered a 10. it's not tight, but it's very close, so i ordered a second pair, an 11. i've never before in my life ordered an 11 , but in this style, that is what fit my 9.5 foot.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Excellent running shoe

By Steph (Indianapolis, IN) on Jun 24, 2014

These shoes are fantastic. I've had mine for a few months now and they are so comfortable to run in. I've struggled with constant right shin problems prior to switching to the Intuition 1.5's - and I started to heal. Now with Torin's on my feet I can run pain free any time. Very thankful for Altra!
Average Rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Happy Toes AT Last

By cams3g (North Carolina) on Mar 11, 2013

I used to hike for miles and last fall developed pain in my right foot toe that was crippling. After spending hundreds of dollars on shoes that felt good in the store but hurt after an hour or so I found a website that lead me to Altra. I LOVE these shoes, my toes are so happy! Hopefully they make a model for hiking.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
awesome shoes even for non runners

By Nancy (San Marcos, CA) on Mar 13, 2013

My feet are extremely hard to please after lots of foot operations. Any extra pressure (like heel being higher than ball of feet) is painful. But after much searching (for more than a year, very discouraged, tried many other high quality and expensive shoesI found these wonderful shoes! I am so grateful for the zero drop! The Torin in particular works for me due to lots of toe room. They have enabled me to walk comfortably. That is huge for me. Now I hope you come out with a zero drop sandal, so I can also wear cute dresses and skirts. Great shoes, great company, great customer service. Excellent!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
great shoe

By Lark (York SC) on Mar 21, 2013

This is the shoe have been looking for ... absolutely comfortable and they are right ... first shoe I don't need to kick off when I come in from my walk. I wIsh it came in solid black. And hope I can find replacement laces (dog chewed on one). LOVE!!!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
WOW

By Happy in Lawnside (Lawnsid) on Apr 9, 2013

I started with The Intuition and loved it but I could run long distance because I needed more support. Then I decided to try the Torin. Wow I love it. Great support and my feet can finally spead when I do my long hauls. Thank you.
Average Rating: 1.0 / 5.0
I'll keep my intuitions

By jmara (Shreveport, LA) on Apr 19, 2013

I keep a pair of intuitions at gym - perfect for treadmill and weight lifting if I tape the back of heel where they rub. Go-to shoes are the improved intuition 1.5's - best shoe ever. Was concerned about running long in them so very excited to try the torin in place of my other company shoes for higher mileage. Had high expectations based on the excellent intuitions but for me, these shoes do not let me feel the road at all. Where the intuitions make me feel sure-footed and able to respond quickly, the torins make me watch the road for every crack or bump. Oh well, great idea, just not for me. On plus side, I did try my 1.5's for my last half and they were as awesome as they are on short runs. Guess I didn't need the extra cushioning, lol.
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Love them!

By Juanita (Portland, Oregon) on Apr 25, 2013

With my mileage rising, I need something with some cushion. Yet I want to stay with the zero drop. Enter the Torin. I had been running in the Intuitions and like them, but slipping into the Torin felt like coming home. I find the fit to be the same as the Intuition 1.5. The laces stay tied better than the others, but I still switched out for some lock laces. So far, I have one marathon and a couple of half marathons in them. Now comes training for a 50 miler. The Torin is my choice of shoe for it!
Average Rating: 5.0 / 5.0
My new lovew

By HilltownRunner (Western Massachusetts) on Jun 11, 2013

I love this shoe! The Torin has relieved the my bunion pain I developed this winter while training for the Boston Marathon. For the last two months, I've only run in these shoes and my bunion never hurts now. There's a lot of cushion which makes me happy to slip these on for both road and light trail (no traction for serious trail runs.) I was also surprised to find out that I can use my orthotics in them. I'd highly recommend it to anyone.
Average Rating: 0.5 / 5.0
Not Pleased!

By Blue Angel (Sedalia, Missouri) on Jul 28, 2013

This is my third pair of Altra's that I've gotten. My first pair were Intuition and felt great the second I put them on. The same with my Superiors. Next I ordered the Torin, they absolutely killed my feet! They ached from the moment I wore them. They also made my planter fasciitis flare up. Tried putting the extra cushion in, no different! I'm sending the Torins back! Very disappointed! I've loved my Altras for the very reason they have been comfortable and my planter fasciitis hasn't flared up with them. Not so with the Torin! Uncomfortable shoe!
Average Rating: 0.5 / 5.0
Don't buy this shoe

By Melissa (Ogden, UT) on Aug 21, 2013

I bought this shoe in January of 2013. I thought it was a great shoe at first. I've been running with it for 7 months now and the shoe has worn out to the point that I can't wear it anymore. The shoe stretched to the point that I couldn't tighten the laces tight enough for my heel not to slip out the back. Because my heel was slipping out the back it wore down the back inside of the shoe. Altra wouldn't do anything about my shoe not even lasting 1 year. I have never had a pair of running shoes wear out so fast before. I would not recommend buying this, they aren't standing behind their products. Never never have any of the other tried and true brands I've tried worn out this fast before.